Industry Honors

The American Cheese Society bestows three different awards upon individuals based on contributions to the industry, the support and promotion of American cheese, and volunteer service to the association.

Above and Beyond Award


Launched in 2012, this award may be granted to individuals who have made an outstanding volunteer contribution to a specific project for ACS, or who have played a key role in a noteworthy association initiative that has impacted the cheese industry in a meaningful way.


Current ACS members in all membership categories are eligible for this award. Award recipients should have made a real and impactful contribution to ACS and/or the cheese industry that is directly related to their project work. The contribution should directly advance at least one of ACS’s core values:

  • Network and Communicate
  • Education and Resources
  • Sustainability

While there is no minimum duration of service that is required, in general, award recipients have given in excess of 400 hours of volunteer time in support of a specific project.

Past Recipients

Academy of Cheese


The ACS Academy of Cheese (AoC) was created in 1993 to honor individuals who have made, or continue to make, valuable contributions that impact the American cheese industry. The charter induction honored ACS’s original founders and early supporters. Classes of inductees share a related industry vocation for their collective dedication to and passion for growing and supporting the artisan, farmstead, and specialty cheese industry in North America. Inductions can be made in any year, but emphasis is placed on marking anniversary years or significant events with inductions. Classes of inductees are based on a common theme among candidates. AoC provides an opportunity to honor and celebrate these exceptional individuals and raise awareness of their unique contributions to the industry.


Inductees may include cheesemakers, cheesemongers, supporting trade members, authors, educators, academics and others who, over the course of a career (generally ten (10) years or more), have demonstrated leadership and commitment to strengthening and contributing to ACS and the wider cheese industry.

Past Recipients

1993 Academy of Cheese (ACS 10th Anniversary)
Class: “ACS Founders”

Inductees include the original founders of ACS whose impetus led to the creation of the association in 1983 at Cornell University. Their vision continues to shape ACS today, as the organization reflects the core values and goals they laid out in the early days of the American artisan cheese movement.

  • Frank Kosikowski
  • Dick Kleyn
  • Patrick Rance

2011 Academy of Cheese (First ACS Conference outside US, Montréal)
Class: “Pioneers of Goat Cheese”

Inductees are among some of the earliest and most successful producers of goat cheese in the U.S., leading the charge when goat cheese had not yet attained its current popularity among American consumers. They inspired the next generation of producers, and brought goat cheese to the fore.

  • Jennifer Bice
  • Laura Chenel
  • Allison Hooper
  • Mary Keehn
  • Lettie and Bob Killmoyer
  • Bob Reese
  • Judy Schad
  • Anne Topham

Lifetime Achievement Award

2020 Nominations are now open and must be submitted online to the American Cheese Society by April 30, 2020!


The ACS Lifetime Achievement Award was created in 2006 by the American Cheese Society Board of Directors to honor an individual whose professional accomplishments have made a significant and lasting impact in the American cheese industry, and whose life and character have earned the respect and admiration of their professional colleagues. Nominees must have served the profession over an extended period and will be honored for their service and performance. Recipients may or may not be ACS members.

The ACS Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented whenever a worthy recipient is identified. This may or may not be an annual occurrence.

ACS members have an opportunity to nominate a candidate for this award by presenting an application which demonstrates a nominee’s contributions to the criteria listed below. In honoring the Lifetime Achievement Award winner, ACS recognizes the best values and accomplishments demonstrated by a winner’s lifetime of supporting and promoting American cheese.

Nominations for the ACS Lifetime Achievement award are accepted and reviewed annually by the ACS Executive Committee and are approved by the ACS Board of Directors. Recipients are named and honored at the Business Luncheon at the annual ACS Conference & Competition, and in the ACS e-newsletter.


Nominees must have served the profession over an extended period of time. Recipients may or may not be ACS members. The award recipient must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be an individual whose professional accomplishments have made a significant and lasting impact in the American cheese industry.
  • Be respected and admired by professional colleagues.
  • Demonstrate strength in building, supporting and advancing the society and its membership.
  • Have a minimum of thirty (30) years’ experience in a cheese-related profession.
Nomination Procedure
  • Complete the official nomination form online
  • Provide a one-page summary of the nominee’s demonstrated contributions, focusing on the above criteria
  • Provide the nominee’s biography
  • Provide two (2) letters of support for the nominee

2020 Nominations must be submitted online by April 30, 2020. Late nominations will not be accepted. Questions can be directed to [email protected].

Past Recipients
  • Ig Vella
  • Dan Carter
  • Steve Jenkins
  • Kathleen Shannon Finn
  • John Greeley
  • Daphne Zepos
  • Ricki Carroll
  • Ari Weinzweig
  • Cathy Strange
  • Mike & Carol Gingrich
  • Sue Conley & Peggy Smith